RSS

Rita Roberts’ Translation of Knossos Tablet KN 634 Bn 03, People, More Girls & Boys

06 Sep

And here is another of my Minoan Linear B Translations. Thanks folks for reading.

Minoan Linear A, Linear B, Knossos & Mycenae

Rita Roberts’ Translation of Knossos Tablet KN 634 Bn 03, People, More Girls & Boys (Click to ENLARGE):

Knossos Linear B KN 634 B n 03And here is Rita’s translation of Knossos Tablet KN 634 Bn 03, which is trickier than the previous one, since it is right truncated, and it introduces the ideogram, people. Since this is only a fragment, it is impossible to determine what the giver is giving the boys and girls, as Rita so rightly asserts.Richard 

View original post

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Rita Roberts’ Translation of Knossos Tablet KN 634 Bn 03, People, More Girls & Boys

  1. vallance22

    September 6, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Keep up the great work, Rita! You are in for some tougher challenges, but I already know you will do just great! And BTW, I have just awarded you Level 4, Advanced Linear B, Part A status!

    Richard

    Like

     
    • ritaroberts

      September 6, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      Well Thank you for that honor Richard ! I am so glad you are pleased with my work so far. Its all down to your excellent teaching you know.

      Like

       
      • vallance22

        September 21, 2014 at 3:49 pm

        The honour is all mine, Rita. Say, I am wondering, since you are English, why do you spell words the American way… like HONOR instead of HONOUR. Just curious. Hate to be nosy.
        Richard

        Like

         
      • ritaroberts

        September 21, 2014 at 4:53 pm

        I do spell the English way Richard but my computer is set the American way of spelling. What a drag eh

        Like

         
      • vallance22

        September 23, 2014 at 6:18 am

        Oh I see.Rita. I did not know about your computer being on American English. Because my kbd. is Canadian bilingual, English & French, it is almost identical to the French Euro kbd., and so British like.

        Like

         
      • vallance22

        September 26, 2014 at 9:57 pm

        Well, Rita, not really. It takes an excellent teacher (I am SO modest!) AND an EXCELLENT student, and in fact, it is the STUDENT who has to do MOST of the learning. But even then, the student every now and then teaches the teacher a thing or two! ha ha!

        Richard

        Like

         
  2. dorannrule

    September 6, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    You are both way over my head but I can tell you are doing seriously important work.

    Like

     
  3. ritaroberts

    September 6, 2014 at 7:35 pm

    Hi Dora, Thanks for your nice comment and for reading. I know its not of interest to many people but yes, it is important work for the sake of updating our knowledge of the ancient Minoan civilization. And its so rewarding when you get it right. That’s as far as we know anyway

    Like

     
    • vallance22

      September 8, 2014 at 4:00 am

      Yes, Dora, you are right on there! Rita and I are both very hard workers. I learned Linear B my self back in early 2012, and then Rita learned it from me from 2013 on. She is rapidly catching up to me now. And yes, the work we are doing IS seriously important, VERY important in fact, because we have a few ace cards up our sleeves, not the least of which is our brand new theory of sypersyllabograms, which apparently no researchers in the past 60 years have isolated or identified!… at least until I discovered them, and Rita firmly backed me up on them. If I were Jesus (I am NOT), she would be Saint Petra.

      ha ha!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
