RSS

What I want from the British Museum

10 Sep

British Museum blog

Bonnie Greer OBE, playwright, novelist and critic, former British Museum Trustee

I wrote in my recently published memoir A Parallel Life, about my first encounter with the British Museum. My dad worked in a factory at night making tin cans and during the day he read. One of the things he read voraciously was the Encyclopaedia Britannica, and it is in its pages that I first saw the Parthenon Marbles, the Rosetta Stone, and the British Museum – the edifice – itself, very feminine and welcome, Muse-like to me. Decades later, after I had moved to London from New York, I was given a Readers Card, a pass which enabled me to take books out of the British Library, then housed in the Museum. I can’t tell you the fear and the excitement I felt going through those faux-Grecian pillars for the first time, me – a kid from the…

View original post 1,021 more words

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “What I want from the British Museum

  1. vallance22

    October 24, 2014 at 9:23 am

    I am HORRIFIED that the British Museum can still write articles showing off the so-called Elgin Marbles. They are the #Parthenon marbles #Elginism is a major crime of grand #theft. SHAME oin the British Museum! Shame on them! The sooner they wake up to what the world demands, the return of the frieze to the #Parthenon the better. Richard

    Like

     
    • vallance22

      October 24, 2014 at 9:25 am

      Plus I would not repost this if my life depended on it. Sorry, Rita, but they should know better by now. It is just stubborn pride. These are the great works of th ancient Athenians!

      Like

       
      • ritaroberts

        October 24, 2014 at 10:01 am

        This is exactly what have said Richard. They belong here in Greece.

        Like

         
      • vallance22

        October 24, 2014 at 10:23 am

        Yes, I know that, Rita. You do live in Greece after all. Why not just steal all the beautiful works from Knossos! Can you imagine the outrage. Sir Arthur Evans did not even DREAM of doing that. We can only hope eh. What a terrible shame.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
