RSS

Pylos Tablet PY cc 665: The Shepherd, Fresh Penis, Offers to Goddess Potnia… Click to ENLARGE (the Tablet, I mean, not the Shepherd’s Tool)

14 Nov

A very unusual name for a shepherd in Minoan times. This post is about an Ancient Minoan Linear B Tablet with two alternative translations shared between my teacher Richard Vallance and myself Rita Roberts. I hope my fellow bloggers will enjoy. Thanks for reading and following my interest.

Minoan Linear A, Linear B, Knossos & Mycenae

Pylos Tablet PY cc 665: The Shepherd, Fresh Penis, Offers to Goddess Potnia... Click to ENLARGE (the Tablet, I mean, not the Shepherd’s Tool)

Pylos Tablet PY cc 665 translationWhen my esteemed colleague, Rita Roberts, sent me her latest translation of an extant Linear B tablet from Pylos, PY cc 665, little did she suspect, indeed, even less did I suspect what we were in for. Rita’s translation is the most commonsensical one a translator could come up with. The word NEWOPEO is almost certainly the name of the suppliant making an offering of 100 sheep and 190 pigs to the goddess, Potnia, one of the major Mycenaean deities, almost all of whom were feminine anyway. Potnia, otherwise called, “Potnia Theron” or Mistress of the Wild Beasts, has often been associated with Artemis, the ancient Greek goddess of the hunt, but she may also be linked with Demeter Ceres, goddess of the…

View original post 898 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
