RSS

An Update on my Linear B Study

30 Nov

For those who have been following my interest in the Linear B Ancient Script writings, here is an update which includes my visit to The Heraklion Archaeological Museum in Crete. Here I was fortunate enough to see a wonderful display of some of the Linear B clay tablets which Sir Arthur Evans had discovered at Knossos Palace.  I could not believe my eyes when I saw how small these tablets were, and stood in amazement trying to imagine how the scribes managed to convey all the meanings of which they wrote on these tablets, which incidentally,  were not fired when they were initially made, just placed out in the sun to  dry.  Many of the tablets when found had evidence of being burned which has helped preserve them giving us an insight into a lost civilization. This for me was the attraction of learning the Minoan Scripts. It is from these Linear B writings we learn their way of life.  And I might add, it is thanks to my teacher Richard Vallance  who has helped me to achieve the learning of this fascinating subject far enough to be able to read most of the tablets I was looking at. However , Richard has informed me that he has to be a little tougher with my lessons now as they will get  more difficult the further into the study. so I hope my fellow bloggers will excuse the fact that my posts may be fewer than usual.

HERE ARE SOME LINEAR B TABLET PHOTO’S ” Courtesy of The Heraklion Archaeological Museum Crete ”

You can click on all the photo’s to ENLARGE.

2007-02-16 23.56.22

ko-no-so   Knossos      a – mi – ni -so   Amnisos  Port

2007-02-16 23.57.06

Heaklion A

2007-02-16 23.58.53

I love this one. Its so clear. and I can write it all.  And lastly a photo of me at the Heraklion Archaeological Museum

unnamed

Thanks to you all for your support in reading my Linear B posts.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “An Update on my Linear B Study

  1. Silver in the Barn

    November 30, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    Looking forward to reading more of your future discoveries, Rita. What a fascinating endeavour this is!

    Like

     
  2. ritaroberts

    November 30, 2014 at 4:23 pm

    Thank you so much for your nice comment Barbara This subject isn’t everyone’s cup of tea so I try and make it as interesting as possible when posting.

    Like

     
  3. dorannrule

    December 1, 2014 at 2:04 pm

    You are amazing Rita! What a challenge you have undertaken. And thank you for the summary review of your progress. And congratulations! Being able to read the words from a lost civilization deserves kudos for sure!

    Like

     
  4. ritaroberts

    December 1, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    Thank you so much for your nice comments Dora. It is a challenge indeed, and its going to get tougher so I hope I can achieve my goal and complete the course both for myself, and my teacher. I will keep you posted. Thanks for your support.

    Like

     
  5. nutsfortreasure

    December 7, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    What a great job! Hoping you are doing well.

    Like

     
  6. vallance22

    December 12, 2014 at 3:00 am

    Reblogged this on Linear B, Knossos & Mycenae and commented:
    This is quite an update! Rita is advancing very rapidly in her understanding and knowledge of Linear B, and she is translating at least 4 tablets a month. Richard

    Like

     
  7. Anne

    February 27, 2017 at 1:03 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your work with us, Rita…it is fascinating!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
