RSS

Roman Centurion’s Song

18 Apr

Before part two of my last post ” Apicius & The Re-enactors, ” I thought it appropriate to re-blog this from Anne-frandi coory. Thank you Anne

anne frandi-coory

The Roman Centurion’s Song                        

(Roman occupaton of Britain 300 CE)

><

Legate, I had the news last night – my cohort ordered home

By ship to Portus Itius and thence by road to Rome.

I’ve watched the companies aboard, the arms are stowed below:

Now let another take my sword. Command me not to go!

><

I’ve served in Britain forty years, from Vectis to the Wall.

I have none other home than this, nor any life at all.

Last night I did not understand, but, now the hour draws near

That calls me to my native land, I feel that land is here.

><

Here where my men say my name was made, here where my work was done;

Here where my dearest dead are laid-my wife-my wife and son;

Here where time, custom, grief and toil, age, memory, service, love,

Have rooted me in British soil. Ah, how…

View original post 231 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
