RSS

Fashion on the Ration: The story of clothing on the home front during World War Two | Culture24

14 Apr

Laura Clouting, curator of the Imperial War Museum exhibition Fashion on the Ration: 1940s Street Style, talks about rationing, utility clothing and fashion on the home front during World War Two.

This is a completely different post to my usual.  I remember my mother wearing these clothes during World War two.

Source: Fashion on the Ration: The story of clothing on the home front during World War Two | Culture24

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Fashion on the Ration: The story of clothing on the home front during World War Two | Culture24

  1. Aquileana

    April 16, 2016 at 2:51 am

    A most interesting reading, dear Rita… very informative. Thanks so much for sharing. Have a great weekend. Sending love Aquileana 😀

    Like

     
  2. ritaroberts

    April 16, 2016 at 9:09 am

    Thank you Aquileana for those kind comments. It brought back many memories for me. !!

    Like

     
  3. frederick anderson

    April 18, 2016 at 8:52 am

    I love stuff like this – food for research! Besides, I am old enough to remember as a child living among forties fashion (because most people were still wearing it in the fifties!)

    Like

     
    • ritaroberts

      April 18, 2016 at 11:09 am

      Glad you enjoyed this post Frederick. I love these fashions even now. History usually repeats itself so what goes around comes around We may see them again.

      Like

       
  4. dorannrule

    April 19, 2016 at 2:45 pm

    What a charming post Rita! I love the styles of the 40’s and remember Joan Crawford wearing dresses like that in films. I think they may be coming back today. And so interesting how things were worn to accommodate black outs.

    Like

     
  5. ritaroberts

    April 20, 2016 at 9:14 am

    I agree Dora, My Mum looked good in her little black outfit which she didn’t wear very often. So I inherited it when I was fifteen as it was still in good nik.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
